Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Highland Park 12yrs

General chat and talk about whisky.

Highland Park 12yrs

Postby blacksabb » Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:54 am

Hi everyone. I've tried this a few times now and wanted to share my thoughts on it. I recently downed a bottle with dad that I bought as a promotional item, which also included a 50ml bottle of HP 18yrs.

Firstly, I realise that peat and smoke isn't really my thing in whisky. Neither is particularly the assortment of sherry matured whiskies. I realise that I like a straight oak cask matured whisky. So far, my 2 favourites are The Glenlivet Nadurra and Yamazaki 12yrs.

And I have to say, that to me as a novice, I find the idea of both a peated and sherry cask matured whisky to be bizarre. But I can say that in the Highland Park 12yrs, it works! The light peat palate is beautifully balanced by the sherry cask, which is why I think I liked it as I don't particularly like either straight peat or a sweet palate with sherry maturation.

The small sample of HP 18yrs was even better. Whereas in the HP 12yrs, the peat and sweet palate were 2 distinct entities, in the HP 18yrs they just meld together, rather than balance and complement each other as in the HP 12yrs. Well that's my impression, I don't know if anyone would agree with me on that.

I believe Ardmore also have a lightly peated and sherry cask matured whisky, albeit with no vintage. I'm thinking of trying this also to compare it to the HP 12yrs.