Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Cask Strength vs. not

General chat and talk about whisky.

Cask Strength vs. not

Postby robbi@laurenson.com » Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:42 pm

I'm starting to suspect that cask strength whiskies appeal to me more than dilute versions.

I just picked up a CI NCS as my 12 is dangerously low, and wow, the difference is remarkable. It's fantastic, full, smoky, sweet and surging. I also recently opened a Laga 12 CS and that too is head and shoulders above the 16 with a glorious power and depth. My first single malt purchase a scant 6 months ago was an Auchentoshan at cask strength and that I also really liked, despite the lukewarm ratings. There seems to be a pattern here...

As I'm relatively new to single malts, I'm curious as to whether this is part of the palate maturation process, where a more direct, powerful but perhaps less complex whisky appeals more? Or are they really just better :P ?
robbi@laurenson.com

Re: Cask Strength vs. not

Postby Willie JJ » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:30 pm

The principle is simple: if you have a cask strength whisky and think it needs water (it seldom does in my opinion) you can put it in. If you have a diluted whisky and think it is overwatered (it usually is in my opinion) then you just have to live with it.

Cask strength is always best in my opinion, if only because the drinker and not the vendor chooses how the drink is drunk. (But they just are better anyway :wink: )
Willie JJ
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby robbi@laurenson.com » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:56 pm

I notice on both the Laga 12 and Laphroiag 10 CS batch #001 the recommendation is to add two parts water to one part whisky...this seems kind of extreme. I prefer not to add water at all, but I can understand bringing it into the 40's abv based on personal preference. 2:1 is something like 20% abv, which I think destroys the whisky (I tried it with a small amount).