Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Smokey/peaty question

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Smokey/peaty question

Postby tannor » Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:43 pm

I am fairly new to Single malts, and in general whisky. Only been drinking them for about 3 years, but in that time have only had a few different ones. Talisker, Highland Park, Bowmore, Glenlivet

I just picked up a bottle of Black Bottle no age Islay blend.

I think this might be the first time I have tried any islay. My question is it tastes totally different then anything I have had before.

Is it because of the peat/smokey taste? One thing I notice a taste almost like gasoline/rubber during one part of finish. I also notice bacon I think. I am not sure if that really describes it. It is not necessarily bad, it just totally different. Is this what I normally would taste from the Islay? I think Bowmore is islay but do not remember this at all, I think it was 12 year
tannor

Re: Smokey/peaty question

Postby Drammed » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:15 pm

Welcome to the forums.

Black bottle is from Islay but it is a blended whisky. It is comprised of a sampling of 7 Islay distilleries mixed with grain alcohol so it is not a single malt. There is plenty of peat/smoke in the bottle but you should be used to that from the Talisker. Black bottle is also a little younger. Yes, most Islay single malts have more peat and smoke than the rest but there are at least 2 distilleries offering different choices and even non peated whisky. Bowmore does have an average level of peat with a very pronounced herbal quality in the 12 yr.
Drammed
Gold Member

Postby tannor » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:19 pm

Interesting I have not had talisker in a while..I am going to have to try it again. I do not remember this much of peaty/smoke.

I remember Talisker being just more peppery and spicy I think.
tannor