Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Smoothest/least harsh whiskey

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Smoothest/least harsh whiskey

Postby Roba » Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:20 pm

Hey guys,

I'm new to whiskey but I'd like to venture into it. I was wondering what your opinions are on the smoothest, least harsh whiskies out there and what would be good to try.

Thanks.

Also. If anyone wants to run through this list, this is what is available to me.
http://www.abcboard.state.al.us/files/s ... Prices.pdf
Roba

Re: Smoothest/least harsh whiskey

Postby Muskrat Portage » Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:56 am

Okay, took a quick look at your list and here're what I would recommend as decent entry level malts. They are at the lower price point and are something I personally consider fairly smooth and not harsh:
A68 GLENFIDDICH 12 YR. 80 12Yr 750 ML 41.99
A106 THE GLENLIVET 12 YR 80 12Yr 750 ML 39.99
A420 GLENMORANGIE 10 YR. 86 10Yr 750 ML 39.99
It's too bad the Balvenie 10 yo Founders Reserve is no longer available as it also is a fine entry level scotch.

Now, if you want a single malt at a higher price point ( +$5-6.00) and with a bit more flavour to enjoy, once you've teethed on the lower price whiskies, try these:
A434 HIGHLAND PARK 80 750 ML 43.99
A464 GLENMORANGIE LASANTA 80 750 ML 45.99
I quite enjoy HP and feel you can't go wrong with either of these whiskies.

Finally, once you've sampled the lower price points and want to delve into the wonders of Single Malts, you might want to consider trying these:
A656 THE MACALLAN 12 YR. 86 12Yr 750 ML 58.99
The Macallan is considered by some to be the "Cadillac" of SM, I just enjoy it
A997 BALVENIE DBLEWOOD 86 12Yr 750 ML 56.99
A998 BALVENIE SGL.BARREL 95 15Yr 750 ML 73.99
The Balvenie Doublewood is a personal favorite, mild but with a lovely finish and I also find the 15 yo Single Barrel to be a very enticing SM.