Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

40% ABV vs. 43% ABV

All your whisky related questions answered here.

40% ABV vs. 43% ABV

Postby mgordo2 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:35 am

I'm a relative single malt novice. Many single malts available in the US are released at 43% ABV. Yet it seems the distilleries release similar malts in the EU at 40% ABV. Question #1: Why the difference? Question #2: Are the tasting notes/user reviews based on the 40% releases reliable guides to the 43% versions?
mgordo2

Re: 40% ABV vs. 43% ABV

Postby AdamMY » Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:49 am

I'll start by answering Question 2, because I am not too sure on an answer for question 1. For the most part yes, reviews of the whisky bottled at 40% and at 43% should be similar, but having dealt with my self dilution of cask strength whiskies a little bit, while a lot of similar flavor waves are there from diluting the whisky bit by bit, how they present themselves can change. Such as fruit notes can change fruits, what could definitely be a pineapple, when diluted a bit more can loose the stronger acidic notes and turn into a slight tartness that you can find in a regular apple.
AdamMY
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby nash60975 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:29 am