Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Non Chill Filtered

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Non Chill Filtered

Postby bond » Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:45 pm

I have been drinking Single Malt whiskies for close to Two years now with a marked preference for the heavier Islays.

I recently sampled a Ardbeg 10 YO 46% strength (non-chill filtered). I found the drink to be remarkably complex and wonderfully mighty on peat.

What exactly is non-chill filtered and how does it alter the constitution of whisky?
bond
Gold Member

Postby Lawrence » Sat Jul 03, 2004 6:47 pm

Jim Murray says "Chill Filtration: the removal by chilling of whisky of congeners (related to smell & taste). This is a purely cosmetic precaution used to prevent hazing when the bottled whisky is stored at cold temperatures. The greater the spirit is chilled during filtration, the greater the number of congeners will be removed"

This means that it will affect the taste (in a negative way) and a lot of companies are starting to offer whiskies without chill filtration such as Ardbeg (mostley) and Springbank.
Last edited by Lawrence on Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Lawrence
Matured cask

Postby Stephen » Sun Jul 04, 2004 2:56 am

Here are some "non-chill filtered ":

OB:
Bruichladdich (new)

IB:
Peerless/Duncan Taylor
Blackadder (almost)
Murray McDavid (almost)
Old Malt Cask/Douglas Laing
Stephen
Bronze Member

Postby Admiral » Sun Jul 04, 2004 8:04 am

There is no doubt that as the chill-filtration process removes congeners and fats that would otherwise cause haze or cloudiness in iced whisky, it also effectively removes many of the elements that contribute to the flavour of the whisky.

Chill filtration puts aesthetics before function - the whisky looks nice if you add ice, but you truly do lose a bit of flavour.