Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Pappy van Winckles 20 yr Family Reserve

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Pappy van Winckles 20 yr Family Reserve

Postby T » Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:09 am

I was given this as partial payment for some work I did for someone.
I have no experience with this producer other than what I have read.
Has anyone tasted this Bourbon before?

First time poster long time mag reader and online lurker.

Cheers.
T

Postby bamber » Mon Dec 06, 2004 11:13 am

I've only drunk it in bars but am very familiar (drunk >= 1 bottle of) with the 10YO 107, 15YO 107 13YO Rye and 12YO lot b. They are all fantastic whiskies. The rye is my second favourite whisky of all time.

I hate to say it but I prefer the 15YO and 13YO as the 20YO is a bit too dry for me. Still really enjoy it though and would love a whole bottle.

It's a famous Bourbon, with a cult following and many Bourbon fan's favourite whisky, so don't listen to me too closely. However, my advice would be to get a bottle of the 10YO 107, savour that until you get used to the VW flavour profile and then sample the 20YO. Otherwise you might just say yuck, because of the large oak imapct.
bamber
Double Gold Member

Postby Frodo » Mon Dec 06, 2004 4:02 pm

T:

I would consider selling it especially if it has no sentimental value. I would think such a bottle would go for more than $120 US. For potential buyers, check out the "advertise" link on this website. On the other hand if you're a longtime reader of the mag and online lurker, this is the sort of thing you may want to try.