Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

20 cl Classic Malts (and Hidden?)

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Postby Dan G » Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:07 pm

I would like to see more whiskys released on 20cl bottles. I'm fairly new to this, and am reluctant to spend the money on a full bottle of something I'm unsure of.

There aren't many miniatures available in Canada (at least where i am) - I assume the cost of shipping them is prohibitive. But, having tried a few minis, I didn't find them very useful. I've always wanted more because I don't think I can judge on glass try whether I like something or not. I think about 3 or 4 tastings is what I've needed for each whisky before I could really make a decision on it.
Dan G

Postby Lawrence » Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:33 am

I heard that the industry is discontinuing the miniatures in favour of the 20 cl bottles.

Dan G if you're in BC Deagio has just introduced a 4 x 20 cl pack of the Johnnie Walker range, red, black, gold and blue for C$90.
Lawrence
Matured cask

Postby hpulley » Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:49 pm

5cL is not enough to discover a whisky. 20cL is a much better sampling of a whisky, and a good way to buy without committing a whole lot of money. I too hope this trend continues, though with Lagavulin and Clynelish its a pretty good bet that I'll fully enjoy the 70cL and 75cL bottles!

Harry
hpulley
Triple Gold Member

Postby SpiritofShetland » Wed Dec 15, 2004 5:14 pm

Cragganmore, Dalwhinnie and Talisker ha sjust popped up in Sweden for just above £10.

Good to see someone else following Douglas Laing, Bruichladdich and others in bottling malts in 20cl-bottles.
SpiritofShetland
Silver Member

Postby Frodo » Wed Dec 15, 2004 5:33 pm

Dan G wrote:I would like to see more whiskys released on 20cl bottles. I'm fairly new to this, and am reluctant to spend the money on a full bottle of something I'm unsure of.