Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

How much water?????

All your whisky related questions answered here.

How much water?????

Postby scotch rookie » Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:26 am

:oops: I am relatively new to scotch, and my favorite discovery thus far has been the Macallan Cask Strength. My question is: What is the proper ratio of diluting scotch with water? Thanks!
scotch rookie

Re: How much water?????

Postby williammackinnon » Sun Jan 23, 2005 2:57 am

scotch rookie wrote::oops: I am relatively new to scotch, and my favorite discovery thus far has been the Macallan Cask Strength. My question is: What is the proper ratio of diluting scotch with water? Thanks!

Welcome to the forum! We all love whisky here, & don't be intimidated because a lot of us are rookies too!

In answer to your question, please refer to one of my previous threads:

http://www.whiskymag.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1921

Personally I never add water to any whisky, but it depends what you want from it. If you check all the replies to my posting above you'll see some good responses which should answer your question.

Slainte!
williammackinnon

Postby scotch rookie » Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:05 am

Thank you for your input. I have always taken my scotch neat, occasionally with a twist of lemon or orange. But I have been reading many posts that say that water releases the scotch in several ways. I always thought the true taste of the scotch was obtained by taking it straight. I'll have to experiment...I've seen recommedations that say to add only 3 or 4 drops to as much as a 50:50 dilution, the latter seems like a waste!
scotch rookie

Postby islayjunkie » Sun Jan 23, 2005 5:17 am

I add water to cask strength in order to penetrate the alcohol percentage in the begining until I'm able to adapt and actually taste the whisky.