Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

CASK STORAGE of Independent bottlers ????

All your whisky related questions answered here.

CASK STORAGE of Independent bottlers ????

Postby Durttbeag » Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:24 pm

Good day to all

I am new to this Whisky form but not new to Whisky
I have a two part question regarding Independent bottlers & the storage of there casks.

Do independent bottlers such as Gordon & MacPhail or Cadenhead etc, store and mature whisky from other distillers in there own warehouses?

If so, does this not affect the whisky since it is being matured in an environment other then that of the original distiller?

Thank you
Roger:)
Durttbeag

Postby Lawrence » Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:51 pm

Welcome to the forum. It is my understading that G&M has a long standing practice of buying new spirit and maturing it in their warehouse for the entire maturation period. Well you might think a whisky matured in Elgin as opposed to Islay might suffer it seems not to be the case. Remember huge amounts of Islay and other whiskies such as Oban are not matured on site but in large central warehouse complexes.
Lawrence
Matured cask

Postby richard » Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:51 pm

yes roger gordonand mcphail do store some of there whisky at there own warehouse so do some distillers ie segram have about fifty warehouses at mulben from eight differenet distilleries so it doesnt sem to affect the whisky to much this is cheaper than storing whisky at there own distillery also easier for customs and excise

richard
richard
Silver Member

Postby hpulley » Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:43 pm

Some have their own warehouses (most do) while the smallest ones may leave it in the distillery's warehouses like other privately owned casks.