Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

wood-finishes

All your whisky related questions answered here.

wood-finishes

Postby Bart » Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:58 am

Do you think a wood-finish does inprove the whisky, and for at least how long should whisky be in the finishing cask to get the right 'finish'.
If you do like wood-finish what would be your favorite one?

Slainte
Bart
Bart

Postby rthomson » Sun Feb 13, 2005 2:49 am

I'm still a relative newbie in judging whisky but I've enjoyed whiskies aged in casks that had previously been used for different purposes. That is, a cask that had been used for sherry will provide various flavors, colors and aromatics that differ from a cask used for port. Comparing the different finishes lends itself to a nice evening. As for the minimum amount of time, I really wouldn't know where to begin on that. It will probably partly be determined by the interaction of the cask and whisky as well as the preferences of the individual.

Just thinking about it is making me thirsty-

Ron
rthomson
Silver Member

Postby Bart » Sun Feb 13, 2005 9:13 am

A lot of distilleries are on this 'wood-finish' and sometimes I think this is just for the money and not so much to enhance the whisky.
Saying that I have had some good wood-finishes, to think of just one would be the Chieftains 11yr Coal Ila rum finish.
Bart

Postby Admiral » Sun Feb 13, 2005 9:43 am

Good topic, Bart!

I have no idea what the optimal time is for a finishing cask, but I have no doubt that it varies from cask to cask, wine to wine, and whisky to whisky.

I believe many finishes have been released in the last few years simply as part of the marketing fad, rather than genuinely trying to create a superior whisky. Finishes are 'flavour of the month', so to speak, and it seems like most of the distilleries are trying to jump on board.