Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Help with Whisky Tasting Order

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Help with Whisky Tasting Order

Postby Frodo » Fri Feb 25, 2005 7:44 pm

I'm conducting my first whisky tasting at a friend's house on saturday night, and I'm hoping for some feedback on the order. So far, I've settled on the following:

1) Bruichladdich 15
2) Auchantoshan Tripplewood
3) Springbank 10
4) Mannochmore 12 (Provenance)
5) Macallan 12
6) Ardbeg 10

1, 3, & 4 were on sale, and 5 & 6 I thought were core. I wanted a lowlander that would match the others in price, so by default #2 is what was available. Any ideas on the order? Any help would be appretiated, since this is my first time trying this.

Thanks in advance
Frodo
Frodo
Triple Gold Member

Postby Tom » Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:00 pm

Hi Frodo,
1 Mannochmore 12
2 Auchentoshan Treewood
3 Bruichladdich 15
4 Macallan 12
5 Ardbeg 10
the macallan this late because it is my experience that sherry can heavely influence your tastebuds, and so does peat.
Tom
Gold Member

Postby FG » Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:50 pm

1.) Auchentoshan
2.) Mannochmore
3.) Springbank
4.) Macallan
5.) Laddie
6.) Ardie

The lowlander first, because it's smooth & very light.
Springbank is a special for it's own. IMO the 10 is not Springbank as it should be. Macallan for some sherry influence and at last the laddie for the strong salty taste and the Ardie for the peat.

Good luck,
Frank
FG

Postby Lawrence » Fri Feb 25, 2005 9:17 pm

1) Mannochmore 12 (Provenance)
2) Auchantoshan Tripplewood
3) Bruichladdich 15
4) Springbank 10
5) Macallan 12
6) Ardbeg 10
Lawrence
Matured cask

Postby hpulley » Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:19 pm

Auchentoshan
Mannochmore
Macallan
Bruichladdich
Springbank
Ardbeg
hpulley
Triple Gold Member

Postby Admiral » Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:23 pm