Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Why do we hate BLENDS

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Why do we hate BLENDS

Postby Durttbeag » Tue Mar 29, 2005 4:50 pm

Hello to all.

I would love to hear all your opinions regarding the taste and quality of blends.
I am no expert here, but it would appear many hard core single malt lovers hate them.

I keep a few bottles in my bar for comparing.

Te beag (sp?) This is a decend blend, non chillfiltered, no color added.
Chivas Regal (for the folks with a sweet tooth)
Johnnie Walker Blue (for good friends)
Johnnie walker Gold (this is a nice one in my opinion)
Johnnie walker Black (for visitors who have no taste)
Johnnie walker Red (for people I DISLIKE)

I also keep a few bottles of Woodford reserve Kentucky bourbon (Hard core stuff for the big boys)
Don't smoke and drink this or you may experience spontaneous combustion.

Cheers
Durttbeag :D
Durttbeag

Postby Lawrence » Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:20 pm

It's funny what you say about JW Red. I had some at a friends house on Sunday before Easter lunch, in a cut crystal snifter with a little cool water. As I always do when it's served in a snifter I find JW Red to be quite enjoyable with a good nose. It's not a single malt to be sure but I'm not expecting that.
Lawrence
Matured cask

Postby Mr Fjeld » Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:21 pm

I can only answer for myself of course but I don't hate blends. I seldom drink them nowadays but I have a bottle of Famous Grouse mostly for friends and for the odd Scottish coffee.
I used to like Chivas Regal a lot several years ago and wouldn't be surprised if I still do had I given it a go.
I cannot say I like Johnny Walker though - any of them - although I'm not sure which one I've tried before (red label maybe? )
Apart from that I can't really see the point in hating blends as they are the financial backbone of our beloved single malt as well as being rather inoffensive.

Skål