Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Bowmore 12 yo

All your whisky related questions answered here.
Related whiskies : Bowmore 12 Years Old

Bowmore 12 yo

Postby bjorn » Fri Apr 29, 2005 3:09 am

Hi,
I'm new to the forum. Long time Bourbon drinker, scotch newbie. I'm a poor college student wondering what to do. I can buy a bottle of Bowmore 12 yo here for $24. The one thing holding me back is this FWP that I have recently heard of. Judging by the good reviews that I have read, $24 is a really good price, but this FWP has me worried. Is it a recent phenomenon, something that might not have been accounted for in older reviews that I've read? Is it something people run into 10%, 25%, 50% or more from Bowmore? Another thing is, I'm going to Scotland in two weeks. Am I better off buying a bottle there? I hear that the stuff is fairly pricy in its home country. I don't want to throw my $24 away on a bad bottle, but I don't want to throw away a good deal. any advice?
Thanks
bjorn
Bronze Member

Postby Lawrence » Fri Apr 29, 2005 5:06 am

FWP has been around for a few years and the name was first coined by PLOWED. The odd thing about it is that there seems to be no rhyme nor reason to it. Some bottles are good and some are bad, some start out well and end horribly and visa versa. Nobody can gaurantee that your particular bottle of Bowmore will be FWP free. There is plently of talk about the FWP on other threads on this forum, a little digging will produce results.

As to Scotland, yes the malts can be pricey but it all depends where you come from. As to the opportunity cost, for myself, I always try to find something that I cannot find at home and something that I think is unusual and the hell with the price within reason. If you add on the cost of a couple of bottles of great scotch onto the entire cost of the trip then usually it hardly makes a difference.