Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

30 Year Old Bruichladdich Single Malt Whisky

All your whisky related questions answered here.

30 Year Old Bruichladdich Single Malt Whisky

Postby bcrowell » Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:14 pm

Has anyone out there besides Michael Jackson tasted the 30 year old Bruichladdich single malt whisky distilled in October 2004? Please let me know your tasting impressions as I plan to purchase a bottle in the near furture and would like a few non-Jackson tasting impression before doing so. Many thanks.
bcrowell
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:06 pm

Postby Spirit of Islay » Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:44 pm

30yo Distilled 2004 ?
I take it you mean the 1973 Distillery bottling ?
If so it's not a bad dram but the 1970 is a far superior bottling.

Slainté
Gordon
User avatar
Spirit of Islay
Triple Gold Member
 
Posts: 2537
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Usually somewhere with Whisky......

30 Year Old Bruichladdich Single Malt Whisky

Postby bcrowell » Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:50 pm

Gordon, thanks for the quick reply. You're right, the release date was October 2004 so I'm assuming the malt was distilled in 1974. Can I buy the 1970 anywhere in Canada or the US?
bcrowell
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:06 pm

Postby Spirit of Islay » Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:58 pm

Hi ,
I'm in the UK so i can't help you there but if you can pop into the chat on my site tonight there will be some Americans and a canadian on , they'll be able to tell you better , the details of the chat are :-
Image
Central Eur - 9.30pm
UK time - 8.30pm
Eastern US - 3.30pm
Central US - 2.30pm
Mountain US - 1.30pm
Pacific US - 12.30pm
Just enter through the site and click on "The Stillroom" .
Slainté
Gordon
User avatar
Spirit of Islay
Triple Gold Member
 
Posts: 2537
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Usually somewhere with Whisky......

Postby bcrowell » Wed Jul 06, 2005 7:01 pm

OPkay, thanks for the tip on the chat room. I'll join in at 4:30 pm Atlantic time as I live in New Brunswick, Canada.
bcrowell
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:06 pm

Postby Lawrence » Thu Jul 07, 2005 3:57 am

I have tasted the 1970 and remember it as the best dram I've ever had from Bruichladdich and the 1973 is good but not as good. I understand that all the inventory of the 1970 in Canada is gone. If I come across a bottle I'll let you know.
Lawrence
Matured cask
 
Posts: 5019
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Return to Questions & Answers

Whisky gift and present finder