Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Freezer

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Freezer

Postby Hanzo » Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:56 am

OK, please be gentle, I'm VERY new to whisky.

So, here's the short version. I like my whisky cold but I always hear that putting it on the rocks is a bad idea because you distort the taste when you water it down. Would it be acceptable to put the bottle in the freezer?
Hanzo

Postby Lord_Pfaffin » Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:23 am

I froze many a bottle of Southern Comfort and Gentleman Jack, they get syrupy and icy cold. It was really a good quaff for those University pot parties in the 70's. :wink:
The idea with good whisky is to coax the fine flavours and aromas from within and thats best done warm. I suppose if you wished to thicken a malt by cooling and drink it right out of the bottle more power to you. :lol:
Lord_Pfaffin
Silver Member

Postby Aidan » Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:16 am

I'd say it has the same effect as adding ice, except that the ice dilutes the whisky as it melts. If you like it cold, add ice, I'd say.
Aidan
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby Paul A Jellis » Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:52 am

Try chilling the glass in the freezer, not the bottle.

But that would be too cold for me, I prefer my whisky just under room temperature.

Cheers

Paul
Paul A Jellis
Gold Member

Postby BruceCrichton » Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:03 pm

I have been recommended to try JW Gold Label chilled.

It was the Distillery Manager at Cardhu. :roll:

BTW, you would be well advised not to try Ardbeg, Springbank or any other unchillfiltered whisky chilled.
BruceCrichton
Double Gold Member

Postby Tom » Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:06 pm

Since you ask this purely out of flavor interest: No it isn't.