Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Novice requires 6 suggestions for first whisky tasting

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Novice requires 6 suggestions for first whisky tasting

Postby VickTheViking » Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:43 am

Hi Folks

I am a novice here, but I do enjoy the odd glass of whisky. Well I have organised a whisky tasting at my place next saturday with about 8 mates.

I am not sure what whiskys would be appropriate for a mixed bunch of drinkers nor the format for making tasting notes.

1) Any suggestions for say about 6-8 whiskeys for first timers?

2) Where can I download some tasting forms

The plan is each person will introduce a bottle then we taste and score.

PS I live in Australia if that makes any difference.

Thanks
VickTheVicking
VickTheViking

Postby Lawrence » Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:04 am

You seem to have it sorted out already, private message your email address and I'll email you back a nosing and tasting sheet which you can print and photo copy if you like. They include notes and scores etc.

Lawrence
Lawrence
Matured cask

Postby Deactivated Member » Sat Oct 08, 2005 2:33 am

Admiral can give you the best advice, since he knows what's available in Australia. I think you ought to try to get four to six bottles of as widely varying style as possible for your first tasting, just to get an idea of what's out there. Offhand, I might say Balvenie 10, Macallan 12, Lagavulin 16, a good Irish like Bushmills Malt, a bourbon. When you've decided what you're going to have, let us know, and we'll give you thirty different opinions on the order in which to taste them.
Deactivated Member

Postby VickTheViking » Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:57 am

Thanks for the suggestions MrTattieHeid. So far my list of wants and haves looks like this: -

Belvenie (10) - Want
Glenmorangie (15) - Have
Jonny Walker Gold (18) - Have
Bushmills - Want