Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

New to Whisky

All your whisky related questions answered here.

New to Whisky

Postby IlPug » Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:38 pm

Hi there...im new to whisky in general, and at some point i would like to work my way up to single malt whisky, but for the moment im trying to decide on some johnnie walker. as such, i was wondering what experience seasoned drinkers like yourselves have had with some of the different labels - in particular johnnie's Green and 'Swing' (i'm really interested in the Swing, as ive heard very little about it *marketing ploy?*, but i know about it being on ships in the 20's etc.) but also Gold and Blue, for future reference...any help with taste and nose would be appreciated and how these compare to single malts would also be quite interesting (ie the benefits of single malts over blended malts in laymans terms).

Really looking forward to your responses guys, and its great to have found such an experienced community!

-Pug

PS would have searched, but the function wasn't working the last few times i tried:S
IlPug

Postby parvus » Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:50 pm

Greetings.

Being rather new to this myself, I'll offer you some advice that has done me well.

If you enjoy a particular flavour in a blend, find a local whisky shop that has good prices and great staff, and ask them to suggest a single malt of a similar taste.

eg. Johnnie Walker Blue has a large influence by Royal Lochnagar. Chivas Regal has Strathisla and so on.

Don't feel that you have to work your way to anything, if you enjoy blends, continue to drink them. However, a good introduction to singles would perhaps be to get some friends together and go buy a range of miniatures and have yourself a tasting evening.

If you want some recommendations, i'm sure we will be able to help you out.

Welcome aboard.
parvus
Silver Member

Postby MGillespie » Fri Jan 13, 2006 2:37 am

Pug: