Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

green spot ...Irish...bourbon???

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

green spot ...Irish...bourbon???

Postby smokey » Thu Feb 23, 2006 1:51 pm

So the Green Spot went on sale and I'd been wanting to try it. This is my first attempt at posting tasting notes, so cut me some slack you guys.

Ok. My first impression was that it reminded me of Evan Williams 12 with smoke. There is the same sweet smell of bourbon, and the taste was similar but in addition to the smoke there were undertones of...menthol? mint? It also has an oily finish.

I admit on my initial taste, I was a little surprised at the sweetness, but after having a few drinks, I think this is a fine whiskey, but it will take me a little while to get to "know it".

In addition, I think it will open up bourbon for me too. I liked the Evan Williams 12, but it was not what I was expecting. I must admit that I prefer whisky to whiskey and bourbon but I'm trying to expand my horizons. I think this might be the perfect bridge.

I was wondering if anyone else thought that Green Spot has more in common with bourbon than whisky?

Ok. Cheers you guys.
smokey

Postby bamber » Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:57 pm

I agree it makes one think of bourbon more than Scotch. Personally, I find more in common with American rye - or at least heavily rye influenced bourbons.

I think Green Spot is a great whisky and is one of my current favourites. Your description is pretty much what I and most people get from it : honeyed sweetness, with menthol freshness and pot still.
bamber
Double Gold Member

Postby kallaskander » Thu Feb 23, 2006 4:14 pm

Hi there,

here a little something on Green Spot.

http://www.mitchellandson.com/history_gs.html#10

Greetings
kallaskander
kallaskander
Double Gold Member

Postby Aidan » Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:07 pm