Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Cork Size - Scotch vs Bourbon

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Cork Size - Scotch vs Bourbon

Postby dmorris » Fri Feb 24, 2006 9:57 am

Hi all.

I have been drinking scotch for quite a few years. I got two bottles of bourbon at Christmas to give them a try..

Elijah Craig and Bladnoch

I noticed that they both have corks about twice the width of my scotch corks. Is this normal for a bourbon, or just chance? I have drank my share of scotch and have never seen a cork that didn't appear to be a standard size.

Any thoughts anyone?

D
dmorris

Postby Deactivated Member » Fri Feb 24, 2006 10:24 am

I'm not sure you meant Bladnoch, which is a Scotch - Blanton?

Many Bourbons have narrow corks - Bookers and Stagg spring to mind. Some Scotches also have non-standard corks, including Cardhu and Ben Nevis 26yo.
Deactivated Member

Postby Deactivated Member » Fri Feb 24, 2006 11:45 pm

The Elijah Craig cork is about the widest there is among bourbon. Only a handful vary off of the standard.
Deactivated Member

Postby irishwhiskeychaser » Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:24 am

I have actually noticed that both of the Japanesse whiskies that I have have larger than regular corks as does my Woodford reserve and 2 glenrothes. All my Irish have standard corks as with Macallan and Highland Park. Not something I really though about before though.

Maybe it is so you can pour bigger drams with out feeling guilty :wink: :D 8)
irishwhiskeychaser
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby Virginia Gentleman » Sat Feb 25, 2006 4:32 am

I really love Elijah Craig 12 but I hate the bottle. I wish they would change it. If you would like a bourbon with a standard cork try Elmer T. Lee Single Barrel or the original Wild Turkey Russell's Reserve.
Virginia Gentleman
Silver Member

Postby Deactivated Member » Sat Feb 25, 2006 9:12 pm