Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Suggestions for Newcomers to Single Malts

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Suggestions for Newcomers to Single Malts

Postby Miandi » Wed Apr 19, 2006 5:29 am

Newcomers to single malt whiskies often ask for recommendations on which whisky's to try when they are just starting out. There have been several posts to this forum asking for and offering advice on this topic. As I've read them, I've compiled my own list of single malts that have been frequently recommended to newcomers. I thought it would be useful put all these recommendations into a single post to make it easier for other newcomers who may come here looking for suggestions.

I am a novice to single malt whisky's myself, so please consider these suggestions from one newcomer to another. Those more experienced than I can add their wisdom and experience.

HIGHLAND REGION
Clynelish 14 yr
Dalmore 12 yr
Dalwhinnie 15 yr
Glen Garioh 15 yr
Glengoyne 17 yr
*Glenmorangie 10 yr & 12 yr
Oban

ISLANDS
*Highland Park 12 yr & 18 yr
Scapa 12 yr & 14 yr
*Talisker 10 yr

ISLAY
Ardbeg 10 yr
Bruichladdich 15 yr
Bunnahabhain 12 yr
Lagavulin 16 yr
*Laphroig 10 yr

LOWLANDS
Glenkinchie
Rosebank 12 yr

SPEYSIDE
*Arbelour 10 yr & A'Bunadh
*Balvenie 12 yr (Doublewood & Portwood)
*Cragganmore 12 yr
Glenfarclas 15 yr
Glenfiddich 15 yr
*Glenlivet
Longmorn
Macallan

* Single Malts that I have tried.

The following suggestions are offered to my fellow newcomers:

1. Be patient with single malts. You will need time to calibrate your palate. The first time you take a sip, you'll probably be overwhelmed. Sometimes I need a couple of drams before I can really begin to taste the complexity of the whisky. Experienced drinkers state that they don't use much water anymore, but I find it necessary for now.