Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

What whiskies should I stay away from?

All your whisky related questions answered here.

What whiskies should I stay away from?

Postby xjbone » Sun Apr 23, 2006 6:51 pm

Hello all. I'm fairly new to the whisky world, and I am looking to gain some whisky knowlege. Obviously, we have all seen "the best whisky" polls, and I have found them extemely helpful (my first bottle was HP 10yo, which I found extemely pleasant). But, to mix it up, I am looking for opinions on what whiskies you would NOT recommend/ avoid at all costs. Thanks!
xjbone

Postby Lawrence » Sun Apr 23, 2006 7:00 pm

I would avoid whiskies that are made from sugar and are only faking at being whisky. Otherwise I would try as many whiskies as I can. However I try to visit venues that have a good selection so that I'm not stuck with a bottle if I don't like it.
Lawrence
Matured cask

Postby Deactivated Member » Sun Apr 23, 2006 7:04 pm

As I am sure you will detect from the other discussion threads, whisky is very personal, each person has their own tastes and what one person likes, another may find undrinkable.

Lots of forum members will be able to point you in certain directions, but you must let us know what YOU expect from a whisky?

If you let us know whether your personal taste leans towards smooth, flowery, smoky, peaty, seaweed, honey, sherry, fruits, light, heavy .. etc, then maybe we can help you avoid certain bottlings that don't match your taste. But otherwise, you will just be getting opinions reflecting other people's tastes.

Having said this, there is one whisky which I have yet to meet someone who likes it: Thatblack Loch Dhu from MAnnochmore.

But I'm sure there's someone, somewhere, who does like it!

WH
Deactivated Member

Postby Deactivated Member » Sun Apr 23, 2006 8:03 pm

Mine!

:P
Deactivated Member

Postby DramMeister » Sun Apr 23, 2006 9:42 pm

IMO: