Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Sequencing whisky drams

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Sequencing whisky drams

Postby Bob & Jill » Fri May 26, 2006 7:05 pm

“Sequencing” is a term I will use to describe purposely moving from one whisky to another with the idea of influencing subsequent flavors. For example, I find that a dram of a light, unpeated whisky tends to enhance the smoke in a subsequent dram of a heavily peated malt.

Now bear with me, I’m relatively new to the Single Malt world so maybe I’m being naive. Perhaps this is old stuff. Yet I haven’t found this topic explicitly discussed on the forum, by the term I use or by some other. I have, however, seen many references to what one ate immediately before enjoying a dram to influence certain flavors of that particular dram. So then, my question is: do other folks sometime (often, never) move from one Scotch to the next in a purposeful, ordered sequence with the idea of enhancing the desirable characteristics of a subsequent dram?
Bob
Bob & Jill
Bob & Jill

Sequencing drams -light to dark.

Postby Muskrat Portage » Fri May 26, 2006 7:42 pm

B & J
I set up our tastings so that we start with the lighter drams and move towards the heavier (peated or iodine) drams. A basis we've tried lately is the Clustan Classification by David Wishart. This is done simply because the lighter drams would be overpowered by the more powerful flavours if done in reverse. We also cleanse our palates as completely as possible before going on to the next candidate.
May have to try "sequencing", as you've described, for fun.
Musky Pete
Muskrat Portage
Triple Gold Member

Postby Di Blasi » Fri May 26, 2006 7:51 pm