Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Whisky tasting in China: advice sought

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Whisky tasting in China: advice sought

Postby beijingboyce » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:45 pm

Greetings All,

I am founding a Whisky Society in Beijing this summer. I have organized tastings for wine, but this is my first attempt with Whisky, and I have ~30 people interested. They range from those who go on Whisky tours during their holidays to people who are simply very curious about this alcohol. This is the main issue: how do I organize tastings to satisfy this diversity of tasters. Do I stick to Whisky from one area or should I contrast areas, and in the latter case, within one country or among countries (there is a limited range of Whisky available here, but it includes Canadian, US and Japanese, and of course Scottish and Irish, brands)?

Advice would be most appreciated.

Cheers,
BB.
beijingboyce

Postby Aidan » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:52 pm

Personally, I'd start with either an introduction to the regions within Scotland or an introduction to the different whiskies of the world. Try to pick whiskies to represent each area.

The you could go on to focus on each area.
Aidan
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby irishwhiskeychaser » Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:50 pm

Diversity is always good and shows people the hugh varation of the different whiskies. Remember eventhough some people are huge fans of certian whiskies this may not mean that they have experience of others.

Also start from light to strong flavoured whiskies and if the budget allows maybe add an expensive whisky.
irishwhiskeychaser

Postby PuckJunkie » Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:15 pm