Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

New to whiskey. How to acquire a taste.

All your whisky related questions answered here.

New to whiskey. How to acquire a taste.

Postby capebreton@heart » Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:51 am

I am fairly new to whiskey. I have drank it on a number of occasions, but have never enjoyed it as much as I would like to. I have tasted most general types (rye, single malt scotch, Irish, blended scotch). I am looking for the best way to become more acquainted with the world of whiskey, and the best way to acquire a taste for it. Any help/suggestions is much appreciated.
capebreton@heart

Re: New to whiskey. How to acquire a taste.

Postby Lord_Pfaffin » Sun Sep 10, 2006 3:16 am

capebreton@heart wrote:I am fairly new to whiskey. I have drank it on a number of occasions, but have never enjoyed it as much as I would like to. I have tasted most general types (rye, single malt scotch, Irish, blended scotch). I am looking for the best way to become more acquainted with the world of whiskey, and the best way to acquire a taste for it. Any help/suggestions is much appreciated.

Figure which of the four aforementioned expressions, maybe try some bourbon too, is the one wich you like the most and go with that for starters. Its a hands-on approach that is most rewarding. :wink:
Lord_Pfaffin
Silver Member

Postby capebreton@heart » Sun Sep 10, 2006 3:36 am

Thanks for the tip. I would like to try bourbon. Are there any brands that are medium-priced I should look for?
capebreton@heart

Postby Aidan » Sun Sep 10, 2006 3:50 am

Just keep drinking it. if yo like it you'll like it. Nothing wrong with not liking whisky either. It's like smoking or Guinness.
Aidan
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby Deactivated Member » Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:33 am