Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Rosebank Distillery - Is a 'resurrection' possible ?

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Rosebank Distillery - Is a 'resurrection' possible ?

Postby Triple Distilled » Fri Sep 29, 2006 10:03 am

A couple of years ago (2004), I contacted Falkirk Council Planning Department (in whose area the Rosebank Distillery is/was), to find out what was happening with the buildings and site after the Distillery closure (I am a Planning Consultant). The aim was to find out if there was any 'mileage' in a possible re-opening of the Distillery, under new owners (ideally in the original buildings - but, alternatively - then - elsewhere on the site). I did have some 'key players' who could have put a bid together (they had got sufficient finance !) - keen Rosebank drinkers (?!) - and buy the brand from Diageo. Falkirk Planning WERE amenable to a scheme rebuilding the Distillery ON THE SITE, but a Masterplan had been approved for the redevelopment of the original buldings - and Diageo were prepared to sell the brand. However, after much deliberation, our 'consortium' decided that, without the Distillery buildings, they didn't want to embark on new build - with all the expense and without the 'cachet' of resurrecting Rosebank in its original form.
We went away.
I'm wondering now, if anyone knows a more updated position on Rosebank - the Distillery buildings, the redevelopment of the site and if any other group has tried to resurrect this wonderful Distillery and Whisky - either on the old 'Canal site', or elsewhere.
Triple Distilled

Postby kallaskander » Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:42 am

Hi there,