Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

On Oak and the meaning of life...

General chat and talk about whisky.

On Oak and the meaning of life...

Postby Drrich1965 » Mon Oct 02, 2006 10:53 pm

Hello whisk(e)y drinkers,

As a malt lover of only a few years, I am new to the world of whisk(e)y. Recently, I have begun to explore the world of American Whiskey, Bourbon in particular. While I am starting to warm up to it, I am finding myself still struggling with the intensity of the oak. In the world of malt, we would say that any single malt that approached the level of oakyness, say, of this Elijah Craig 12 year old in my hand, would be flawed. For instance, my birthday malt two years ago was a Macillops choice 1965, 37yo Strathisla. While I enjoyed it for sentimental reasons, it was dominated by oak and sherry; very little malt character remained. As I sip this bourbon, I am aware that many other flavors are competing with the oak, vanilla and some chewy toffee type notes, something citrusy. Yet, that oak is so big!! So, my question? Is it enough to say that the big oak is part of the point, and therefore to be part of the manner in which the whiskey is evaluated, or can we make objective comparisons between types? How do we excuse excessive oak in one and not the other? I know there are several implicit questions here, and I know that one of the answers is to just enjoy it for what it is, and to keep working at appreciating the tastes (what I say to those new to malt).

Looking for dialogue...

Rich
Drrich1965
Gold Member

Postby Mr Fjeld » Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:22 pm