Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Time of Day for Malts

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Time of Day for Malts

Postby sgsoloplayer » Wed Oct 18, 2006 10:42 pm

Hey guys, I searched and did not find anything on this subject so please direct me to a topic if I missed it. I was wondering what kinds of malts are good at certain times. I'm new to malts and just bought the ardbeg 10 and highland park 18, so I wanted to know if there is a certain time of the day that is better for drinking these or what food I could pair with them. Thanks in advance, and feel free to broaden this if you think all Islays, Highlands, Speysides, etc... should be enjoyed at a certain time.
sgsoloplayer

Postby Paul A Jellis » Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:00 pm

No rules for me - I drink what I want, when I want it. It could be Ardbeg for breakfast, Glenfarclas for lunch and Ardbeg again for supper!

What's available at the time has a lot to with it.

Cheers, Paul
Paul A Jellis
Gold Member

Postby Bullie » Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:05 pm

I agree with Paul. Anything anytime... Just as long as I feel for it. The mood sets the whisky.
Bullie
Gold Member

Postby Badmonkey » Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:02 am

I love a dram on a weekend morning after sleeping in and having a long, hot shower. Most of the time I can't pour a dram until after 11 p.m., which ain't half bad either.
Badmonkey
Gold Member

Postby laphroaig10_65 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:32 am

After lunch is my favourite time. I look at my bottles and listen what they have to tell me; then I choose.
Bye
Luca
laphroaig10_65
Bronze Member

Postby Ardbeg311 » Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:52 am

In keeping with the responses above, I will drink what is on hand at whatever time I may be able and in the mood. I have had some great experiences with Ardbeg at 11:00 in the morning even though it is classified by MJ as "a bedtime malt."
Ardbeg311
Gold Member

Postby Dubois » Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:59 am