Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Jameson Gold???

All your whisky related questions answered here.
Related whiskies : Jameson Gold

Jameson Gold???

Postby Jacques » Fri Oct 20, 2006 3:56 am

Can anyone tell me if you know this bottle?? I am fairly new to Single Malts and found this bottle in my collection that I received as a gift.... also is it good?? any word on price??
Thanks
Jacques

Postby kallaskander » Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:30 am

Hi there,

it is an Irish blended whiskey which does not contain single malt. The flavour giving whiskies in it are called pure pot still whiskies and they are not 100% malt but a mixture of malt and unmalted barley. The rest is grain whiskey.

http://www.royalmilewhiskies.com/produc ... 0000017571

http://www.classicwhiskey.com/whiskey/jamesongold.htm

Just two examples.

Greetings
kallaskander
kallaskander
Double Gold Member

Postby Aidan » Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:01 pm

It depends on what you like, but I think this is a very good whiskey. It is made from pure pot still and grain whiskey, the youngest of which is about 8 yrs, although the whiskey they are using is getting older.

Some of it is matured in virgin oak, which gives it a bit of a punch.

It was produced for the duty free market originally (specifically the Japanese one), but it will be soon relaunched in a different bottle for a wider market.
Aidan
Cask Strength Gold Member

Thanks!!

Postby Jacques » Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:29 pm

Oh... Thanks for the info... thought it was a single malt... oops..!! I'll give it a try sometime..
Jacques

Postby Jobi » Fri Oct 20, 2006 6:29 pm

I agree that this is a very good whiskey. My brother pulled out a bottle to toast me with before (and again after) my wedding. Really enjoyed it. I wasn't aware that it was being released to a wider market. Good to hear.
Jobi
Gold Member

Postby irishwhiskeychaser » Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:58 am