Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Does Whiskey 'Go Off'

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Does Whiskey 'Go Off'

Postby studal » Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:52 am

Please excuse my ignorance as I am just getting into whiskey and while I am adoring and savouring all that I drink and taste there is one question that keeps popping into my head. Does whiskey go off? Or more so does it loose its potency and flavour? I have a Bruichladdich full strength 13 YO and distilled in 1989. Well since I have opened the bottle nearly a year ago I get the impression that the taste has changed and the nose is not the same. The alcohol vapour does not seem to be as strong. Am I imagining this? Should whiskeys be drank quite quickly? Once again please excuse my inexperience. :oops:
studal

Postby Deactivated Member » Thu Nov 09, 2006 3:13 am

Hi, studal, welcome to our virtual pub. Your question has been discussed at length--check the FAQ's, or do a search on oxidation, spoil, etc. The short answer is that yes, the bottle will go off after a while; how long depends on many factors, like how empty the bottle is, how often it is opened, how good the seal on the cork is, whether you have gremlins in your house, etc. I believe the chief culprit is simple evaporation of alcohol and perhaps other volatiles. There is widely varying opinion on what is a safe length of time to have a bottle open, but the consensus seems to be that when it gets much below half full, you don't want to let it die a lingering death. Drink up, and buy another one!
Deactivated Member

Postby les taylor » Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:20 am

I'm with Mr T. There is nothing worse than a slow lingering death. The more oxidation that takes place the worse it is. Life is to short to drink bad whisky.

:)
les taylor
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby Di Blasi » Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:54 pm