Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Johnny Walker Green Label

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Johnny Walker Green Label

Postby Elagabalus » Sun Nov 12, 2006 7:53 pm

Hello,

I am pretty new to Scotch. My grandmother (Scottish) was a big scotch drinker. She was an alcoholic single malt snob. I remember bottles and bottles of Glenfiddich at her house. When I was young (and underage) I remember trying a sip of it (fiddich) and hating it, which makes it weird that I am here now.

The other day my sister's boyfriend brought over a bottle of Johnnie Walker Black Label, and after sampling that I found it quite enjoyable.

I'd like to try the green label and will most likely buy a bottle but could any of you tell me the history behind green label? What exactly is a pure malt? Also, what you guys think of Green Label if you have tried it?

Thank You
Elagabalus
Gold Member

Postby adogranonthepitch » Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:30 pm

The green label has been around for around a decade. It is Diageo's opps should be .... Johnie Walker, range.

The range is ..

Red Label JW ........ rough as a badgers ar$e
Black Label JW ........ drink of the gods
Green Label JW ........ JW's only ALL MALT whisky
Gold Label JW ...... smoother than a mink codpiece
Blue Label JW ....... a very nice drink, good to have, but worth the money?

To be honest, Green Label is an all malt (or vatted) blend. The beauty of JW is that it is a blend, a blend of grain and malt. That is its 'raison d'etre', its reason for being. Please dont buy the green JW, buy a decent single malt, buy a similar Speysider malt such as Craganmore, Glen Elgin etc.

But some JW Black label, a drink that is fantastic (me being a malt man at that). To enjoy it at its peak, place a bottle in the freezer for at least 2 or 3 days with 2 or 3 shot glassess.

Bring the bottle out at the last minute and pour the syrupy whisky into the frozen shot glasses.