Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

How to ask for a drink at a bar?

All your whisky related questions answered here.

How to ask for a drink at a bar?

Postby Elagabalus » Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:41 am

Hello,

I'm new to Scotch/Whisky.

When I am at a bar/pub what is the correct way to ask for an ounce of whisky.

I don't believe you refer to it as a shot. So let's say I want some Johnnie Walker Gold. How would I ask for that?
Elagabalus
Gold Member

Postby Deactivated Member » Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:53 am

"Johnnie Walker Gold, please."

(Smartass.)

No, but really...say what you want, and how you want it--on the rocks, neat, in a snifter, whatever. We always talk about ordering a dram, but I doubt many Tronna bartenders will be familiar with the word.
Deactivated Member

Postby Elagabalus » Tue Nov 14, 2006 5:04 am

Im in Canada. :)

ok that makes sense. So I can just say Johnnie Walker Gold.

I don't have to say "I'd like a dram (Cdn equivalent word???) of JW Gold?"

??
Elagabalus
Gold Member

Postby Deactivated Member » Tue Nov 14, 2006 5:18 am

Nope. You name it, they'll give you a standard measure, probably an ounce where you live. (One of the cool things here in the States is that bartenders usually pour freehand, and most of them have no idea what they're pouring, so three-ounce drams or more are not unusual. Likely any place you go to will measure very carefully.) Just make sure you get it the way you want it--many bartenders will assume you want it on the rocks unless otherwise specified.

Suggest you check out Allen's on the Danforth, or the Feathers on Kingston Rd. They have huge selections and know what they're doing--you can learn a lot in a short time.
Deactivated Member

Postby Elagabalus » Tue Nov 14, 2006 5:47 am

thank u very much sir.
Elagabalus
Gold Member

Postby bamber » Tue Nov 14, 2006 11:24 am

It usually goes like this:

Sion says: