Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Laphroaig 10 yo C/S

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Laphroaig 10 yo C/S

Postby kbanifaz » Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:32 am

I bought a bottle yesterday and I've had a few drams of it since. I'm new to the Islay's and initially I thought this would be too much to handle.

The first dram I had out of the bottle I felt was extremely smokey and refined, I liked it alot. Since that first dram however, I've felt as though even though complex it's finish is just pure alcohol. I can't taste anything in the finish other then just alcohol. I've splashed some mineral water, a couple of times.

Has anyone else experienced this? I'm just wondering why my initial take of it was so different. I liked alot at first and not so much today.

It feels too firey and gasoline like now for some reason.
kbanifaz

Postby KiwiBoyInJapan » Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:43 am

I am not an expert but here are my thoughts:

First let me say that I really like the C/S, I prefer it to Uigeadail...just not every day. I have to be in the right mood to drink this, otherwise it can be a bit like drinking diesel :shock:
Also, I like to have a couple of beers or a couple of drams of something a bit less explosive before sipping this fiery, peaty monster. Try pouring a glass, adding just one drop of mineral water and leave it standing while having a couple speysiders, maybe a talisker...then go for it! If you still can't hack it don't worry about it, many people find it too much and theres no point drinking something you don't like just because it's rated highly!!
KiwiBoyInJapan

Postby peergynt323 » Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:43 am

First off, you will get used to the alcohol taste. After that it's more a matter of whether it numbs your taste buds.