Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Full bodied, thick whisky

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Full bodied, thick whisky

Postby afviper » Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:08 am

I am a beginner to the world of Whisky. I have tried Highland Park 12, Balvenie 12, and Laphroaig 10 which have all been great in their own way. I now want to try something that is a bit thicker, and more full bodied, maybe even syrupy. I want to keep the price down below $50. Some of the bottles that have caught my eye is Talisker 10, Glenfarclas 10, and maybe a Macallan 10 or 12. If one of my choices stands out, or you have a suggestion I would love to hear it.
afviper

Postby peergynt323 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:33 am

I found all well-aged Glenrothes to be thick and viscous--almost syrupy.
peergynt323
Gold Member

Postby Drrich1965 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:52 am

Well, I was hoping post 500 would be profound, how about just a simple opinion :wink:

Some people note that Caol Ila is a bit oily, at times. I find that quality gives many exprssions of the malt a good, think, hearty body, something almost chewy, if you will. If you like an olivy quality, some nice peppery peat, give it a go. Depending where you are, the 12 year old is certainly under $50, and is very nice. There are also many young, vibrant cask strenghts for about the same price. With Caol Ila, young ones give a great intensity, old ones are a bit more mellow.
Drrich1965
Gold Member

Postby Choochoo » Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:23 am

(with sultry singing) Gold Member - he's the man with the midas touch Congrats! :D :D :D

As far as the original question. I'm not sure if any of the three choices listed would totally fit the bill of being thick and syrupy.

Talisker is smoke and black pepper with some sweetness (and I find a little tar in it as well sometimes)