Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Learning to Taste

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Learning to Taste

Postby JPYank » Fri Mar 09, 2007 12:13 am

Esteemed fellow inebriates,

Being a novice to the world of whisky, I am studying the excellent "Nosing and Tasting Course." I noticed the assertion that there are only 4 basic flavors, which made me wonder, whatever happened to umami? Or is that not relevant to whisky tasting? I would imagine it might come up in the context of seaweed or nuttiness. (And do I detect it in the Yoichi NAS? Well, I wouldn't even know enough to try to make any tasting notes yet, though I do concur with the pepperiness reported by Ed.)

Any opinions, enlightenment and/or rebukes welcome to further my education.
JPYank

Postby Deactivated Member » Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:05 am

Umami's so fat....

Sorry! Carry on.
Deactivated Member

Tasting novitiate

Postby Muskrat Portage » Fri Mar 09, 2007 3:46 am

JPYank:
You are on the right track, taking a tasting course to educate your palate and nose to what you are tasting and sensing. If you review many of the whisky books and even the forum tasting notes, you will see what appear to be odd remarks on flavours being sensed. You can compare those notes to samples that you have access to to see what is being referred to.

You may also want to read some of; Michael Jacksons Whisky Companion books, Phillip Hills' Appreciating Whisky; or Jim Murrays' tome to see what other theories about flavour are out there. This will help you understand what you are experiencing.

"Fresh pavement" was one comments made about an Islay at one of our tastings, and it was not offered in a derogatory way, simply it was the closest flavour the person had experienced.