Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Peat Monster ?

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Peat Monster ?

Postby scotchrunner » Sat Jun 23, 2007 7:50 pm

I am new to Scotch and it's really the smoky aroma that pulled me into it, but I am beginning to appreciate the complexities of all single malts.
I would like choose just one bottle of either Compass Box Peat Monster or Ardbeg or Laphroaig. Is the Peat Monster any more extreme in smokiness ? or should I just stick to trying one of the single malts Ardbeg or Laphroaig.
Thanks for your opinions ! :thumbsup:
Alex
scotchrunner

Postby Deactivated Member » Sun Jun 24, 2007 3:52 am

I haven't had the Peat Monster, but I recall that the consensus is that it isn't all that monstrous. You can scroll down to a couple of tasting notes on this page, the Tasting Notes of the forum, which you'll find permanently at the top of the Tastings category--a very useful resource maintained by Jan for no profit but our humble gratitude.
Deactivated Member

Postby killerwhale » Sun Jun 24, 2007 5:33 am

just my opinion but I'd go with Ardbeg, then Laphroaig (you mean the 10? the QC is better than the 10 in my opin also), then the Peat Monster.....
I liked the Peat Monster but it's not as big or yummy as Ardbeg & Laphroaig.
killerwhale
Gold Member

Postby Dangerous_Dave » Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:36 pm

Compass Box Peat Monster is predominantly Caol Ila (30-40ppm phenol) and Ardmore (~10ppm) single malts. I can't see how that can "out-peat" Ardbeg/Laphroaig at ~50ppm. The most heavilt peated SMSW is Bruichladdich Octomore at 80 ppm (or 167ppm depending on who you ask) but having tasted one or two of the other peated Bruichaddich malts, I'd say the tall stills and narrow spirit cut are likely to remove many of the interesting, richer flavours created by the peat.
Dangerous_Dave

Postby RufusA » Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:51 am