Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Looking for a new house, Macallan 25yo to celebrate?

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.

Looking for a new house, Macallan 25yo to celebrate?

Postby K-Mile » Sat Sep 15, 2007 5:58 pm

I am currently looking for a new house in Amsterdam, which is a real pain since the city has had a housing problem for years. Regular lists involve 8 yrs of waiting before being eligible for a house (which is the same time it takes to mature a nice young scotch :-) ).

So, I thought I'd get myself a little incentive, to open up when I found a new place (hopefully sooner than 8 yrs). I was thinking of the Macallan 25yo. I haven't tried any Macallan yet, since I am still fairly new to single malts, so that is just a wild guess.

I have seen a couple of versions of the 25yo, with people claiming that the Fine Oak series is not all that impressive. How do you all feel about that?
K-Mile
Gold Member

Postby Deactivated Member » Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:07 pm

I think that if you don't even know if you like Macallan, you might reconsider. What do you know and like?

(I also recall some here saying the 25 is not as good as the 18, which is considerably cheaper.)
Deactivated Member

Postby K-Mile » Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:03 pm

Do you mean that it might not be the best idea to buy an expensive bottle without knowing whether I'd like it, or is the Macallan itself something that might be an unpleasant surprise to the less experienced drinker?

I think the anticipation, and the experience of cracking open a special bottle with a couple of friends is going to be a fun evening either way. And even if it's not going to be worth the money for taste alone, the least I'll get out of it is a great story :-)

But I totally agree with you that I'd rather have a great whisky as well, so here's a few that I tried recently and liked:

Highland Park 18yo