Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Caol Ila 25yo

Your tastes and our tastes are discussed here, so make sure you share your pleasures with us.
Related whiskies : Caol Ila 25 Years Old

Caol Ila 25yo

Postby Jan_M » Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:22 pm

Hey,

I am from Belgium & 26yo.
I am new to the world of malts and since my visit to a whisky festival a year ago, my interests in this golden liquid has raisen a lot. Favorites so far are Caol Ila, Ardbeg and Highland Park.
Because of my preference so far in Caol Ila and after a period of price watching, i bought myself a bottle of 25yo 1978 Caol Ila.

It's still unopend and i was wondering how your opinions are about that whisky.
Was it worth the 3 times higher price then a 18yo bottle ?
And would you have chosen a Highland Park 25yo (about the same price) instead ?

As a novice, it's difficult to get an idea which tastes i prefer.
I hope that my next bottle of Laphroaig will confirm my pref in peat

Thanks a lot for reading & kind regards
Jan
Jan_M

Re: Caol Ila 25yo

Postby zippy » Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:53 pm

Caol Isla, Ardbeg and Highland Park are three excellent distilleries. A 25yo Caol Isla is very good although a little less peaty than you may expect - the younger whiskies tend to have more peaty bite, but that is compensated for by other more complex flavours and aromas. As for whether it is worth it, it tends to be a case of diminishing returns (as with so many things in life!) - it certainly isn't 3 times better than the 18 yo, but its price is pretty comparable with other whiskies of a similar age

- my opinion is open it up and start drinking it asap!

I can't comment on the HP 25 yo not having tried it, but I would like to do so, I suspect it's pretty good too!
zippy

Postby dcb » Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:07 pm

I've never had the 25, but I finished a bottle of the 18 a few months ago and really enjoyed it.
dcb

Postby peergynt323 » Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:08 pm