Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

Balvenie 15 year Single Barrel Question

All your whisky related questions answered here.

Balvenie 15 year Single Barrel Question

Postby Apollo11 » Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:31 pm

Hello to everyone,

I am a new member to this forum, but I have been drinking SMSW and other whiskeys for 6 years now.

I have a question reguarding the labels on the 15 year Balvenie Single Barrel. I have been drinking this stuff for a few years and on the label the cask number, in cask date, and the bottling date are always printed via a computer, and the bottle number is written by hand. I just picked up a new bottle, and all of those numbers are hand written. I know this may be trivial, but I was curious and I knew this place would be the best place to ask short of calling the Grant company.

Any insight would be great, thank you.

Derrick :angel:
Apollo11

Re: Balvenie 15 year Single Barrel Question

Postby mikeymad » Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:41 pm

Cheers Apollo, welcome to the Forum, and good question. There is probably just going to be speculation on most of our part (including my own).

I would think that there would be printing runs for the lables, and the only thing I could think about would be that there is either a printing mistake or an underrun (they have more bottles than lables printed), so they would hand write the extra lables to finish off the run.

Is your bottle number high? (over 200)

btw, I like this beverage.

Cheers,
mikeymad
Cask Strength Gold Member

Postby TheTross » Fri Mar 14, 2008 9:45 pm

Welcome to the forums Apollo11 :D

Maybe the printer had run out of ink on that day? :wink:

Hmm, interesting. Just looked at my one and only bottle of Balvenie 15 and yes, everything but the bottle number is printed. Might be to symbolise rarity perhaps?

And I like this this whisky too, though I seem to reach for the DW more often!
TheTross
Gold Member