Not a member? - Register and login now.
All registered users can read our entire magazine archive.

The Whisky That Cannot Be Named 1953 (Adelphi)

Do you have a 50 year old vintage waiting to be discovered by a worthy collector? Post your details here and find out!
Forum rules
Please note items can not be offered for sale on this forum.

Re: The Whisky That Cannot Be Named 1953 (Adelphi)

Postby TheTross » Sat Jun 28, 2008 4:32 pm

Well, I'm not an expert. Charles MacLean certainly is though, and he rates it quite highly:

Charles MacLean wrote:In 25 years of considering whiskies carefully and writing tasting notes, this sample ranks among the top two or three I have tasted.

Ever since I heard about this bottle - and read its reviews - I've been really curious as to just how good it is to earn such an accolade, but at £500 a bottle (last time I saw a price for it was about a year or so ago though, so it may be more expensive now) it's a tad too much for my wallet...

I'd say if you can afford it, definitely buy and open it, because by all accounts it's one of the best whiskies ever bottled. As for its potential increase in value? I don't play that game so I have no idea; I buy whisky solely to drink, and if it were me that had the opportunity to get a bottle I certainly wouldn't have it lying around getting dusty :empty:
TheTross
Gold Member

Postby corbuso » Sat Jun 28, 2008 5:12 pm

winston81 wrote:Hi,

The above Whisky i have always wanted to add to my collection.

It just looks a me and asks me to buy it!?!?! wierd i know.

I open this topic to ask all of the Whisky experts on this forum to give me some advice on this Whisky.

Is it a worthy whisky to add to a collection?

Is it a valued investment long term?

Just some info on it? Have you tried it?

Any advice would be greatly recieved.

Thanks in advance